Fairy Claus

You know what? Sometimes you just have to bribe your kids a little bit. I’m not proud of it, but you have to play games and you have to make things fun. Hell, I’m an adult and I still need things to be fun to feel engaged in them. Thankfully my idea of fun has changed a little bit over the years and now my idea of fun, is making things fun for other people. I like to sweeten the pot a little bit. Today I dropped a little bit of jingle dough in my little girl’s bedtime book.  This should be fun.

Indulge me for a moment and just pretend that you’re a 5 year old girl. You just got home and your first order of business is get dressed and get back in the car to drive to New Jersey to eat dinner with a bunch of older BORING family members for an early Christmas.

Okay, start pretending…

This part is exciting because the tree is lit and under the tree is FULL of presents.

Actually the next part is exciting too. Well, it was exciting for her but now it’s old, but it should be exciting for you because it’s your first time seeing it. But it’s okay that she’s not excited by her fantastic bed anymore because it’s not like I stayed up until 3 am putting it together or anything… 😦 Truth be told, I felt like such a champ after I assembled this bed I briefly considered a career in carpentry. At this point I should note that the bed was from Ikea and basically came ready to be assembled. It was still hard though!

PS This bed is SICK! It has a little hidden alcove underneath it that you can’t see, but it’s mint.

Now this is where it gets tricky, because there is this book we read to her every night. It’s a devotional for little girls with characters from the Veggie Tales in it. See that!  They are trying to make the bible fun by putting Veggie Tales characters on every page and on the cover, but the bottom line is that the text in the book is derived from the Bible and it has some pretty deep lessons in it.  At this point, I just don’t think she wants to think that hard about her life right before she goes to bed. As a matter of fact, I KNOW that she’d rather think or talk about anything besides that because she interrupts us 100 times in 5 minutes, but that’s besides the point. Here is the book. Looks fun right?

She hates it. Correction, she doesn’t hate it. I actually think she likes it, I just think she hates paying attention to anything that’s not Barbie or Justin Bieber. I just had a brainstorm for a kids’ devotional…

However, imagine her delight when THIS happens next time she goes to pick a page! I know she’ll find it because she MUST pick out the page, even though she can’t read, she pretends to pick out the one that makes the most sense for her day. Really, what she’s doing is finding her favorite character. I don’t remember the name, but I know it’s a she. I feel about Veggie Tales the way she feels about deep biblical lessons I guess.

Back to the moral of the story, basically this little girl is going to open this book and find the surprise of her lifetime. She was going into the book for some spirituality, but what she’s going to find first is sheer excitement. (It was actually her reaction to my statement “I’m going to give you $5” that inspired this blog, along with a couple of other things. I have never seen a human being that excited before.)

I can’t wait to see the expression on her face when she finds this. And if you see her, you don’t know anything about me and this blog. I’m letting her think it was a gift from Jesus, a reverse Christmas gift if you will.

PS I had to write in different handwriting because she would pick up on it. VERY sharp kid 🙂

Tagged

2 thoughts on “Fairy Claus

  1. gmar53 says:

    I especially like the page you picked – God Wants You to Share. What a wonderful lesson for every child to learn.

  2. Bekah says:

    AW! I bet she loved it and will be looking for money every time she opens the book now!

Leave a Reply

